my grapes are in the freezer, i’m not sure why

July 29, 2016 at 2:37 pm | Posted in blog info, musings, no audience underground, not bloody music | 3 Comments

grapes of sloth

Oof.  Tired.

Y’know those rare days when it is so hot that the only possible topic of conversation is ‘how hot it is’?  Well like that but replace ‘hot’ with ‘tired’.

So tired that I mix up different presenters on the CBeebies channel and alarm my three year old son by exclaiming:

Blimey! That lass has grown a new arm!

So tired that I can only marvel, a hapless spectator, as a single flight of stairs proves a challenge to my trembling knees.

So tired that I put the grapes in the freezer and am bewildered to find them, rock-fucking-solid, the following morning.

So tired that all music becomes a grey and undifferentiated mass, the prospect of which just makes me want to… sleep.

Yeah: oof.

Readers may have noticed a slow down in posts of late.  This is due to your humble editor enduring a bad attack of the one-damn-thing-after-anothers.  Long term followers may worry that my depression is returning but, mentally at least, I seem as impervious as a concrete rhinoceros.  It’s ‘just’ ‘real’ ‘life’, the demands of which have brought on a mild, music-related existential crisis and have, until now, not afforded the time to think about it.

On the face of it, all is barrelling along very nicely indeed.  I’ve been massively impressed with Clan RFM this year and the terrific projects my comrades have been involved with: Chrissie’s album with Helicopter Quartet, Joe’s unhygienic but effective finger-in-every-pie creative strategy, marlo’s participation in and championing of the Extraction Music event/comp, Luke’s mad tape on ultimate outsider-art label Cardboard Club, the awe-inspiring line-up gathering for Sof’s Tor Fest (alas, I won’t be there – I’m cashing in all the husband-points I’ve collected to go to TUSK and hang with Miguel later in October) – to name but a FEW.  That any of them has managed to write anything for l’il ol’ RFM boggles the mind.

And me? Yeah, my dinky CD-r on Bells Hill has been well received, my ideas have been discussed in the ivory towers of academia and I am now the owner of two T-shirts commemorating events at least partly inspired by my writing.  No biggee.

The only problem is that I can’t seem to listen to music.

It’s odd – throughout my life as a serial obsessive I’ve spent three or four years each on various nerdish pursuits (go on, ask me about textual variations in the numerous editions of Philip K. Dick’s The Unteleported Man a.k.a. Lies Inc.  Err, no, on second thoughts, don’t) before losing interest and moving on, but music has always been exempt from this pattern before.

What’s happening?  Despite the ridiculous tiredness, my concentration span hasn’t entirely left me – for example, I got through over twenty hours of podcasts about the horrors of the World War I recently (yes, that was what I was doing instead of listening to your tape).  My sense of humour may have darkened but I’m maintaining a jaunty-ish Twitter presence (even if the rest of my correspondence is for shit).  I’ve even tried dropping the noise and looking elsewhere.  A few weeks ago I was told off for declaring 6 Music ‘unbearably smug’ so I turned it on, listened to three minutes of a string quartet covering ‘Kashmir’ by Led Zeppelin, and turned it off again.  The prosecution rests.  1Xtra is a lot more exciting but the playlist system makes it impossible to listen to for any length of time (or at the same time each day – ‘Skwod‘ soundtracked the washing up for a week, it’s great but…).  Experiments with YouTube, downloading mixes, internet radio and the like have had inconclusive results.

So what now?  My apologies to those who have sent music or are expecting emails – I’ll do what I can.  I have posts lined up from Chrissie, Luke and, inevitably, Joe so RFM won’t be entirely silent whilst I figure this out but, with the pile of stuff for review at record levels and visitor stats stalling, I wonder if you lot have any advice.

Any ideas as to why my grapes are in the freezer?

unteleported

—ooOoo—

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. If you want to keep your white wine chilled in this hot weather, frozen grapes make great ice cubes that don’t dilute your wine 🙂

  2. At first I thought this was a petals release. With a title like “my grapes are in the freezer, i’m not sure why” and that cover image. I was a little disappointed it wasn’t in all fairness.

  3. What with grapes being slang for hemorrhoids round these parts you had my eyes watering for a while there …… but on to more serious matters. If I was you I would leave ALL music well alone until the current stasis leaves of its own accord. I think you’re trying to fight fire with fire and looking for solutions on the radio, youtube etc will have a detrimental effect. Leave it all alone and let nature take her course and before the months out you’ll find yourself investing in the entire Alga Marghen back catalogue.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

