midwich – my clearing head (nid nod)

May 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm | Posted in midwich, no audience underground | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

midwich – my clearing head

my clearing head

Another treat pulled, seemingly at random, from the midwich bran tub.  This was released by the micro-scale, perfectly-formed, short-lived and much-missed cdr label nid nod and came lovingly parcelled (‘packaged’ doesn’t quite capture it) in brown paper and string.  Each parcel was jewelled with a stamp from somewhere exotic.

The music is a single piece but is a shorter than most of my other long-form tracks.  It is also noticeably more upbeat – some might even hazard to say life-affirming.  I think this has a refreshing fizz and clarity which tempers the usual melancholy.  The mood is meant to reflect the grateful state of mind I was enjoying at the time it was recorded.  Ironically, this was one of the last midwich releases before depression got the better of me and led to the shelving of FFR.  Oh well, layer a bit of cheap poignancy over it and it sounds even better…

If you’ve not bothered with my long-form stuff before I recommend this as ‘entry-level’.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

